Adventure Throwback: Badlands National Park ’00

From L to R: Aunt Mindy, Donald, Ashley, Dominic, Me

This adventure throwback is from when I was 10 years old (year 2000)! My two aunts took my two cousins, brother, and myself out west on an epic road trip that took us through 13 states. We made stops at many amazing sights including: Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Devils Tower, Devils Slide, and Badlands National Park to name a few.

I remember the Badlands pretty well. I remember it being really hot and hard to find shade. I remember hiking a bunch through the area… and doing a little bit of my own off-trail excursions. I always got yelled at for doing that.

Badlands National Park is located in South Dakota and is one of the beautiful wonders of the USA. It’s amazing to see all of the colors and the layers that make up the various geological formations. This place is home to a number of fossils and used to be home to many prehistoric animals back before humans even began to think of coming to North America!

It’s very cool to see, not only a piece of human history, but a gigantic piece of earth history. Nowadays, the Badlands is home to numerous hiking trails and over 2,400 animals including bison, big horn sheep, and prairie dogs.

Leave a Reply

