Capture your moment.

Oh, it’s cliche I know – but capturing your traveling is a great thing to do for many reasons. I personally love having pictures to look back on in a photo album when I’m feeling the travel itch between vacations and I want something to show my family and my future kids! 

I am really big on cameras and photography so I can be rather picky about the cameras I use for various things. In my personal collection I have four cameras that each have their own purpose. 

I know most of you are probably not as OCD as I am about pictures. But I’ve recently found a great “one-stop-shop” camera that is great for just about any occasion. 

The Nikon Coolpix is a fantastic point and shoot camera that can be purchased at any major retailer (bought mine in a bundle package at Walmart.com). I picked the 20.1 megapixel, 5x zoom, with a 3.0 inch LCD screen.  I picked this version because it everything I need for a vacation. 

The pro’s of this camera are:

1. It’s small but not too small. It is convenient to carry in a purse and won’t take up too much room; or if your a non-purse carrying male or female, it can go easily in a pocket or hang from a case on a belt loop. 

2. The Nikon experience. Nikon cameras are known for their crystal clear lenses that produce beautiful pictures. This camera is no exception. Though you probably won’t be getting super amazing fantastical photo results, you’ll still get a beautiful shot that blows other cameras photos out of the water. It still amazes me how great it’s photos are in clarity and overall balance of light  

3. All of the settings. This camera literally has a setting for everything. From snow, to fireworks, landscapes and night portraits to easy auto shooting. 

4. Easy auto setting. This setting creates a great balance of color contrast and clarity in one simple press of the finger. This setting does 90% of the work for you! 

5. Easy upload to a computer. It comes with a cable that has a regular USB end on it. Once it’s plugged in, the computer automatically opens a program to upload your pics to the computer. 

Cons:

1. The Coolpix I have doesn’t have rechargeable power. It uses two AA batteries. Granted, the batteries have lasted me two vacations and three weekend trips before they died – but oh do I wish that it came with a rechargeable pack or set of rechargeable batteries. I’m just too lazy and cheap to go buy a set of rechargeable batteries on my own! 

There are versions of the Coolpix that do come with rechargeable power sources. So don’t be too discouraged and they don’t cost too much more than the ones without. 

2. Dark light and night shooting can be difficult. The fireworks setting can be difficult to master. But once you do, you get some amazing photos. I just wish there was an easier way to take night photos or photos in dark places where you aren’t allowed to use flash (for example concerts at night). You have to have a really steady arm to get pictures that aren’t blurry. 

Just like with other forms of technology, there’s a learning curve. Thankfully the Nikon Coolpix learning curve isn’t as steep as others. I strongly suggest taking the time to experiment with any camera you buy so you can get a feel for it and make sure it’s exactly suiting your wants and needs. 

Below are some pictures I took with my Nikon: 

From a moving car. 
Still day light at the concert. No zoom. 
Zoom used! Phillip Phillips getting ready to play! 
I think I figured out how to take decent pics at a concert! 
I wanted a little bit of blur on the fishing pole for perspective sake. But this photo is unedited. I love the color and clarity of the picture. It’s just beautiful!
One of my top favorite photos from this camera. YES, I got lightening with a point-and-shoot camera! Be jealous! 😛 
 (***Disclaimer: Not a paid/official endorser for Nikon… I just like their products and wanted to share my experience.***)
Leave a Reply

