The Beauty in the Path Less Traveled

There is a saying in our society about taking the path less traveled. In fact, there is a whole poem by Robert Frost about taking a different path.

“I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by, 

And that has made all the difference”    – Robert Frost, 1920

 In my holiday travels thus far, I have encountered many traveling roadblocks – some quite literal roadblocks (we came across a herd of cattle that had gotten out of their pasture!). In all of it, I’ve learned two things: carry a paper map in my car  and always have a plan-B.

 

An alternate plan has been my saving grace when traveling. I tend to want to avoid big city traffic and  known construction (basically all of I-71). So when my boyfriend and I were traveling up to Ohio for a relative’s funeral, we were told by another family member coming up from Kentucky  that I-71 was closed in-between Cincinnati and Columbus.

It’s bad enough we are given the misfortune of losing a beloved family member, but to be stuck in traffic so close to Thanksgiving was just the icing on the cake of suck-age. The morning of, we quickly laid out the map and plotted a huge alternate route. Instead of taking I-71 all the way up to northeast Ohio, we went I-64 to I-77! We had to go through West Virginia!

It appeared to me to be completely out of the way of what I was used to. I tend to like very direct and progressive routes to my destinations. This route took us all the way through the most eastern parts of Kentucky, through a 3rd party state, and then into Ohio on the western side up to our destination in Canton, Ohio.

It seemed way too complicated for me and I wanted to take I-71 and just take scenic byways around the construction problems we were told about. After much convincing by my boyfriend and his family, we set out on our alternate course.

I was greatly surprised by this route. Not only was it far less populated by big cities, but it was a much smoother ride. I could put on the cruise control and just drive with no one bothering me until we got into the surrounding areas around Canton. It was also serenely beautiful to travel through the hills of Kentucky and West Virginia.

The moral of this story is to be open-minded and try not to be stubborn. Taking alternate routes can save you tons of time and probably will correlate in saving you tons of money! Who doesn’t love saving both time and money?! You’d be crazy not to. You also run the advantage of seeing new parts of the country that you may not normally get the chance to see – which, in turn, can give you more destinations to plan on visiting in the future.

See… it all pays off! Take the road less driven and I assure you you won’t be disappointed.

Hiking on our road less traveled in Ohio.
Leave a Reply

